February Blessings

This month gave me a really tough week emotionally. Not only did I have to make a visit to my parents’ home, but the day I left, I caught a stomach virus. I won’t go into those details, but in the midst of one bad week, there were three pretty great ones.

Here’s what I was thankful for in February:

Safe travels to and fro

Now that I’m commuting, I’m seeing how accidents happen because of reckless/distracted driving. Because of this, I’m always so thankful the Lord protects me every time I’m on the highway. His grace and mercies are new every morning!

Seeing my grandmom

jersey
New Jersey

This month was tough as I had to rush home in the middle of February to see my grandmother. Let’s just say we don’t have much time left. I have no regrets on how I allowed her to play a part in my life. She poured into my life and was a staple until I moved to Nashville.

I don’t see her as often now that I’m 12 hours away, but if I can give you one piece of advice, it’s for you not to squander the years you have with your grandparents.

Listen to their stories.

Help them around the house.

Take them out to eat.

Have them over for a sleepover and let their wisdom and experience be a blessing to you.

It’ll still hurt when you see their health decline, but you won’t battle with the “Should’ve, could’ve, would’ve” that many battle with during times like these.

Finally, after 26 years, having a Valentine

valentines-day

I was in Jersey with family for Valentine’s Day, but sweet, sweet Le Boyf decided to welcome me home with Valentine goodies (my favorite being the dinosaur. Isn’t he cute?!). He got me the “The Jungle Book” and “Tarzan” live-action movies, beautiful flowers, Felix the Dino, a poop emoji pillow (inside joke), and a beautiful card that, honestly, made me cry. Le Boyf is such a gem.

Parkway Baptist Church

We’ve been going to a new church since I moved out to Smyrna and it’s the most authentic place I’ve ever been. The church isn’t mega, the majority of the people are older, the music is great, the pastor preaches from the Word of God. As soon as you walk in the door, you’re greeted by so many people! It’s peaceful in the sanctuary, a breath of fresh air. Ever since Le Boyf and I have started to go, his family has been attending, too. God’s on the move!

Got artsy 

This month was all about the arts as my friend A and I got an invite to see Nashville Ballet‘s Attitude series featuring a Johnny Cash tribute “Under the Lights” and a story about immigration from Europe to America in “Sergeant Early’s Dream.”

mandala

The Frist Center currently has “Secrets of Buddhist Art: Tibet, Japan and Korea” on display, and with it, a beautiful Mandala painting created by four monks. During the Family Festival Day May 7, the monks will return to do a ceremony and destroy the painting. It’s always so cool to stop and realize this is my job, to attend and promote events like this.

 

What were you thankful for this month? Let me know in the comments below! 

Leave a Reply

