My biggest fear

Fear is a funny thing, isn’t it? It’s our imagination running wild, our eyes “playing tricks on us” that get us anxious, fretful, scared.

I’ve had a fear of something that, to some may seem a bit immature but, for the life of me, I’ve been able to get over it only once until it came roaring back.

My fear is the dark.

When people quote that show, “Are You Afraid of the Dark?” I chuckle and say “Uh, yes.”

I sleep with a nightlight.

With praise music in the background.

I recite Psalm 4:8 — “In peace I will lie down and sleep, for You alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety”

Until my mind quiets, my heart stops pounding so loudly.

Until I can relax.

Paranoia sometimes sets in. I’ll check my closets, every room, even under my bed because I have this fear something is out to get me at night.

Every creak, crack, movement of my apartment settling, gets the hair on my neck standing up.

It’s a problem.

But there’s a solution.

Instead of allowing my head to be filled with evil things until my palms and feet start to sweat and I’m too afraid to open my bedroom door until morning, I’ve decided to fill my head with these verses every night, before I go to sleep.

My hope is that Jesus will cast out this fear, break these chains of paranoia and fear of the dark so I can truly do what the psalmist says “in peace…sleep.”

If you’re afraid of the dark, or afraid in general, maybe these verses will help you, too:

“I will fear no evil, for You are with me…” Psalm 23:4

“The Lord is my light and my salvation – whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life – of whom shall I be afraid?” Psalm 27:1

“He will cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge; His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. You will not fear the terror of the night…” Psalm 91:4-5

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear…” 1 John 4:18 (and the Lord’s love is perfect :))

What’s your fear? Which verses do you cling to in times when your heart trembles and your mind races?

Leave a Reply

