The anchor

“We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.” Hebrews 6:19

Have you ever felt insecure about something in your life? Maybe it was a new job or relationship, or maybe you felt insecure about yourself: your features, your personality, your thoughts.

For a few months recently, I’d been struggling with insecurity. I prayed and prayed for a sign from God to let me know all was well, that everything was going to turn out okay.

Well, in order to get a word from God, I needed to go to the Word of God. What does God say about how I feel? What are His thoughts?

I flipped through the Bible and read verse after verse, eager for something to speak to my spirit. But, silence.

My prayers felt like they hit the ceiling and came back down; I couldn’t hear God… try as hard as I might.

I felt lost.

And then, Hebrews 6:19 floated softly and silently into my soul this past Wednesday.

Well, part of it.

Okay, fine. A word of it.

Just one word.

Anchor.

I read the whole verse and, like a curtain being drawn back so the sunlight can shine through, Hebrews 6:19 did the same.

After anchor, the next word I held onto was ‘secure‘.

I stared at that word for a few moments and then, finally, my ears unclogged to hear the Holy Spirit: “Insecurity doesn’t come from God, but from the one who’s trying to lure you away from what God says about you.

In the Lord’s eyes, your ARE good enough.

You ARE smart enough.

You ARE beautiful.

You ARE made perfect through Him.

Cast out those negative thoughts and emotions. Tell your soul to rejoice because you are safe and secure in Jesus Christ.”

If you believe in Christ, you take on a new identity, a strong spiritual identity. While this is news to make us rejoice (the old has gone, the new has come), the battle becomes harder.

Realize the devil prowls around, his main goal to get you to become discouraged, fixated on your past, so that you can’t move forward into the purpose God has for you — a purpose that brings others to know Christ and His chain-breaking freedom.

While this may be exhausting to think about, also realize the Word of God is your sword.

Learn it.

Memorize it.

Strike back.

Square your shoulders and tell those negative thoughts off. Tell your mind and your heart and your spirit who your Father in heaven says you are.

We are more than conquerors through Christ, which means because of Jesus the battle is already won. We have victory. Our hope in Jesus is “an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.”

Turn away from the insecurity and embrace the security that’s found in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

