Grateful Monday

To combat the negative feelings Mondays seem to bring, I’ve decided to start Grateful Monday, where I list 5 things I’m grateful for. Here’s to happier Mondays!

1. Lit Linda

A friend was in town a few weekends ago. When he’s here, we have a knack for meeting extraordinary people in unexpected places. It’s one of the perks we get for constantly exploring new haunts. Enter Lit Linda, a woman named Linda who was inebriated with a vivacious thirst for life (and her daughter’s cocktail). Lit Linda brightened up our time at a honky tonk in downtown Nashville, telling with us about where she lives and what she does. She taught me the value of meeting perfect strangers in bars; they have a knack for making your life more colorful.

2. Hole-in-the-wall establishments

That same weekend, we stumbled upon two bars that exuded local charm. We played pool with two strangers who quickly became friends. I had a banging veggie burger while he had wings with his brew. We stayed at the second place until about 2:30 a.m. Never underestimate the power of an unassuming, local waterhole. They’re usually the best places.

3. Second Chances

I screw up a lot. Mistakes are a normal thing for me. Sometimes I am hypocritical, self-righteous, loathing, jealous, selfish and envious. I thank God every day for second chances. He never gives up on me. I’ve done a lot of reflecting this month, and there are a few people who come to mind who have also given me second chances. In spite of my flaws, they see something in me worth holding onto. And for that, I am humbly grateful.

4. Books

I’ve also rediscovered my love for sitting down in complete silence and reading the hours away, transporting myself to a different time and place with characters that seem to breathe off the pages.

5. Positive clothing lines

Recently, I had the privilege of collabing with Posh Ink Tees, a company who shines a positive light on body image and natural beauty. Check out their merch: http://poshinktees.com/

Posh Ink Tees makes all their things in the U.S. They have t-shirts and home decor for sale; and revel in encouraging positive body image through their screen prints. Check them out, give them some love and buy something for yourself as a daily reminder that natural, strong beauty is always in style.

What are you grateful for today? Let’s talk in the comments!

Leave a Reply

