When troubles mount

Finances

Relationships

Family life

Work

Starting a business

There are many things that can get us bogged down, lose focus of the blessings around us, put us into a sort of chasm where feelings of helplessness reside and begin to dim our light.

This happened to me a few weeks ago.

It seemed everything was coming apart. I felt unsatisfied, empty, “all used up”. My energy was gone and I felt it harder than normal to empathize and encourage those around me.

It turned out, I was focusing all my energy on one tiny aspect of my life, instead of focusing on all the blessings I’ve been given (the biggest blessings having breath in my lungs each day).

So what did I do?

I turned to Jesus for strength and He gave me this verse in the form of this song:

“I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come? My help comes from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:1-2

Problems, pain, feelings of loneliness and emptiness have the tendency to make us look down.

However, look up.

Look past the mountains of trouble and focus on the promises of God. He will deliver you and, not only deliver, but will strengthen and renew your life in every way.

My life is a constant testament of the ebb and flow of mounting problems in the midst of my purpose.

But, in order for me to carry out my God-given purpose, I must look to Him who gave me that purpose in the first place.

When we focus on God in the midst of storms, we become more aware of our blessings and those problems that used to paralyze, are then turned to forms of praise for what God has done in the past, what He is doing in the midst, and what He WILL continue to do.

What mountain are you facing today? Feel free to share in the comments below.

Let’s encourage one another to focus on the positives of life because the positives far outweigh the negatives.

Featured image: Tom Hall

Leave a Reply

