Taking possession of your land

So Joshua said to the Israelites: “How long will you wait before you begin to take possession of the land that the LORD, the God of your ancestors, has given you? — Joshua 18:3

I moved to Nashville when I was 18 years old, fresh out of a small, private Christian school to travel to a city where my Jersey accent would stand out; people were a lot nicer; and to a college where I would have to choose if Jesus was going to be my No. 1.

Nashville’s been home for seven years now and for those seven years I’ve prayed and sought the Lord to know what in the world I was to do here, what was my purpose for Him bringing me here?

In the process of seeking, I found I wasn’t acting out my faith.

I was actually stagnant in getting involved in anything because the looming question of “Is this what God wants?” stopped me from taking that leap.

And then I read that verse in Joshua one night and it all clicked.

The Lord brought me here to make a difference, to get involved in the community and simply shine my light.

I think it’s the same for all of us.

We’ve gotten so wrapped up in the idea that God has one specific plan, one specific purpose and it’s OUR job to find it. But where in the Bible does it say that we have to go “find” it, as if it’s some big mystery?

Let’s see what we are to do as Christians:

“No, O people, the LORD has told you what is good, and this is what he requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8

“Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” James 3:17

“What is written in the Law?” [Jesus] replied. “How do you read it?” [The man] answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'” “You have answered correctly,” Jesus replied. Do this and you will live.” Luke 10:26-28

Ultimately, what does the Lord want us to do? What is His plan for each of us?

Bloom where we are planted.

Produce fruit where He plants us. As in Joshua, take possession of the land the Lord God has given you.

In this moment. In this season. At this time in your life.

For me, that’s Nashville, this city’s community, involving myself in the church, showing Jesus wherever I go.

Where is it for you? Are you blooming where the Lord has planted you?

Or, like so many of us, are you looking around for God’s purpose when His purpose is looking at you right in the face: be it the face of a child, a coworker, a friend, a spouse, a homeless person.

If we serve where God has led us, letting tomorrow and all its promises take care of itself as Jesus says, our lives will instantly become fuller, richer, and we will see we have been walking in God’s purpose for our lives all along.

Leave a Reply

