A prayer for today

Father God,

Thank You for waking me up this morning, where Your mercies are new every day. Thank You for Your grace, for breathing another day into my lungs.

Thank you for Your constant forgiveness through Your son, Jesus Christ. Thank You for Your plan, for sending Him as the ultimate sacrifice for my sins.

Thank You for Your fellowship, for Your calling on my life. Even when I’m scared and tired, not knowing what’s next You take my hand (or sometimes pick me up) and You lead me through. Thank You for that.

Father, my heart is crying out to You. Lord God, your servant is weak, she’s discouraged, she’s carrying burdens she no longer can carry. I’ve run from my source of contentment, encouragement, and love. I’ve run from You because I didn’t know where You were leading me, what I was doing, why You have me here in this place. Because I ran, I’m poured out and I feel so far from You that I’ve felt I couldn’t return to You, as if You’d shake Your head and turn Your back, my chances all used up. I’m dirty, I’m wounded, I’m broken.

But am I abandoned?

No.

God, Your Word says You cast my sin and remember it no more, that while I stand in Christ, I am reconciled to You through Christ. I’m not labeled a sinner but a servant. No longer condemned, but redeemed. You call out to me. You send Your Holy Spirit after me and You tug at my heart.

You fill my mind.

Like the Psalmist said, “If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.”

Thank You for never abandoning me. Even though I run from You out of confusion and doubt, You chase me with Your love. You send Your spirit out and while I go away from You, You are there protecting me, guiding me, helping me, showering me with Your grace and mercy.

I can’t do this life alone, I know that.

I need You, Lord.

Always You.

Just You.

No matter where I go or what I do, I need You.

If I feel strong, it’s because of You. If I’m weak, there You are made strong.

My life, my heart, all that I am is Yours. You called me to this life You prepared with all its challenges, hardships, joys and victories 8 years ago.

Help me always remember that day You called to me while I was on my knees seeking You. You called me to greater, to be greater. Help me emulate that 17-year-old girl: strong, determined, unwavering in her faith, uncompromising, and unashamed of the Gospel of Jesus Christ of whom she’d show through her life in how she loved, how she conducted herself wherever she went, and to whomever she met rich or poor.

Lord, I’ve stumbled in that resolve. I’ve stumbled, but You haven’t let me fall. Strengthen me today and every day through Your Word, through Your voice, through Your spirit.

Father, I thank You for the gifts and talents You so graciously bestowed upon me, using them for Your glory, Your purpose and the advancement of Your kingdom.

Father God, bless every person reading this right now.

If they are broken, mend them.

If they are weak, strengthen them.

If they are discouraged, bring them encouragement.

If they are thirsty, quench their thirst.

If they are hungry, feed them.

If they are lost, I pray they are found by You.

If they are searching, I pray they find You.

We are a broken people, Almighty God, but in Jesus Christ our feeble abilities are strengthened in all the power of Christ because in Him, we are strong and ALL things are possible.

Thank You for Your plans, for Your constant work, for who You are. You are the God who loves us, the Almighty God, the God who gives us a spirit of power and love and not one of timidity, the God who stirs up righteousness, the God who brings dead bones to life, the God who gives us breath, the God of heaven and earth, the God who is and will always be worshiped, if not by His people then by the very rocks on the ground. Hallelujah!

Father God, thank You for the victory You’ve secured for Your people. Jesus, thank You for overcoming the world. I pray for each and every one of my sisters and brothers in Christ. Meet them where they are. Keep their focus on You, not turning to the right or to the left. Bring Your work to completion in each of our lives, dear God.

Thank You for Your glory, God Almighty, shown in each and every day. Thank You for what You’ve done, for what You are doing, and for what You will do in the future.

It is in the name of Jesus Christ, that at His name every knee will bow and every tongue confess Jesus Christ is Lord: the Savior of the world, the Lamb of God, the Lion of Judah, the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, the overcomer of death. It is in Jesus Christ’s name I pray all these things not just for myself but for those who have found You and those who are in need of being found.

Amen, Amen, & Amen.

Leave a Reply

