Clogged Love

There’s a song a lot of Christians sing in church called “From the Inside Out”.

Compelling lyrics and great melody makes this a great worship song.

This was in my head one day; I was singing aloud in my apartment when the words got me thinking:

To love You from the inside out

The lyrics have a simple meaning: to love God in my heart and show my love on the outside.

But, am I accomplishing this?

Sure, I love the Lord with everything I am. My prayers are like conversations with God, no flouncy words or poetry; I just talk. I read the Bible, I love to go to church and sing His praises.

I can do all these things but is my love for God being shown on the outside?

Am I loving God and loving His people?

Is my life a constant flow of God pouring His love into me, and is that love overflowing out of me to the people I interact with on a day-to-day basis?

Can people tell the difference in me? Can they tell there’s a Christ-like transformation happening?

Am I loving God from the inside out? Or, is all of His love being clogged within me?

I don’t think there’s a bigger lie being circulated today than the one where people say “Keep your faith to yourself.”

As Christians, this should be so comical to us.

How can we, who have received mercy, overwhelming love, eternal forgiveness and abundant life keep that inside, to ourselves? How could we not share about this bright light, this complete joy Jesus Christ has given us? How could we keep silent over such a wonderful, inexpressibly amazing gift?

James urged Israel and he urges us today:

“Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. DO what it SAYS…In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.” James 1:22, 2:17

And what does the Word say?

Be peacemakers, love the Lord your God with everything you are, and love your neighbor as yourself.

Who is your neighbor?

Everyone.

Right down to the people you pass on the street. Any soul you come into contact, including eye contact.

Jesus said: “Freely you have received, freely give.” Matthew 10:8

He doesn’t want us to be silent. He doesn’t want us to hide the light He’s given us. He wants us to shine bright, showing the love of Him to all people, like a city on a hill.

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.” Matthew 5:14

And

“In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

Are you openly loving the people who surround you? Do you deliberately love? Is it apparent to the people around you that you are a Christian, not just by name but by deeds?

If we bear Christ’s name, we must also bear His actions. 

“For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.” Matthew 12:50

Is God’s love clogged within you? Or can you confidently say His love flows “from the inside out”?

Share your experiences in the comments below 🙂

*Featured image: Photo by Bob Duran

Leave a Reply

