Pretty is P!nk

Guest post: Annalise Kraus

Instagram: @mona_lisey_smile

These were the lyrics going through my mind as I read the news of how P!NK was being criticised for her weight over the weekend:

“So what? I’m still a rockstar. I’ve got my rock moves. And I don’t need you tonight.”

And you wanna know why? Because body shaming is still a thing and I will never understand why…

The John Wayne Cancer Institute held a benefit this past weekend in which P!NK, Alecia Beth Moore, was in attendance. She was there supporting a friend who was receiving an award and P!NK looked incredibly classy and beautiful as always. Unfortunately the internet is a cruel and undeniably judging place.

Unidentified haters of the Twitterverse began posting her picture attached with bold comments about her apparently “unacceptable” body image and, for one of the many reasons I love P!NK, she decided to let the world know why she doesn’t give two craps:

“I can see that some of you are concerned about me from your comments about my weight. You’re referring to the pictures of me from last night’s cancer benefit that I attended to support my [dear] friend Dr. Maggie DiNome. She was given the Duke Award for her tireless efforts and stellar contributions to the eradication of cancer. But unfortunately, my weight seems much more important to some of you. While I admit that the dress didn’t photograph as well as it did in my kitchen, I will also admit that I felt very pretty. In fact, I feel beautiful. So, my good and concerned peoples, please don’t worry about [me]. I’m not worried about me. And I’m not worried about you either … I am perfectly fine, perfectly happy, and my healthy, voluptuous and crazy strong body is having some much deserved time off. Thanks for your concern. Love, cheesecake.”

Yes, Love cheesecake, love brownies, love burgers, and love yourself.

Honestly, as long as you are in a happy place, does it matter what “happy” looks like to other people? Like anything else in life: Your dream job, your perfect weekend, your favorite music, your favorite clothes to wear, etc. it’s all relative. The key to living a successful and happy life is all in the eyes of the beholder.

If we were all meant to look the same, weigh the same, like the same things, and think the same way, we would all be EXACTLY the same. How boring of a place would this world be then? And if we were all EXACTLY the same, we wouldn’t have differentiating opinions, we wouldn’t have anyone to look up to, no one to aspire to be; individualism would be a dead baby of a concept.

Just because you’re skinny, doesn’t mean you’re happy. Just because you’re not skinny doesn’t mean you’re miserable. Just because you weigh over 100 pounds doesn’t mean you are unhealthy, and just because you barely weigh anything doesn’t mean you are healthy either. There is such a gray area with this topic and I feel like I am preaching to the choir since we, especially as women, have heard this stuff over and over and over again. But if this is the millionth time we are hearing this not-so-new information, why are we still having this conversation? Or why am I still needing to write a post about it?

I am not trying to say that we should be making up excuses for people to not make healthy decisions and put themselves at risk because of it. I am simply saying that there is a HUGE spectrum between being skinny, being healthy, being overweight, being confident and not giving into outrageous social expectations.

And another issue this article brings up is the source and an archives of information from this media outlet. I came across this information through People.com. And while I love my Hollywood gossip as much as the next girl, this is the same news source which give us advice on how to lose our love handles and our baby weight the quickest way, how to dress ourselves skinny and how to get a six pack in time for spring break.

I smell a bit of hypocrisy in the air, ladies and gents.

And a little history lesson: P!NK has never been a twig. She has always been muscular and incredibly in shape. And I would bet anything that these commentators of the interwebs don’t look anything like Victoria’s Secret models.

All of that rant to say, P!NK is a mom, she is human, she is a gymnast, and if she feels confident and beautiful when she leaves the house for a night out, then leave her alone.

She can spin acrobatic circles around these internet goons any day.

What do you think of the P!nk backlash? Let’s talk in the comments!

Leave a Reply

