A long respite

There comes a time in every life where a sabbatical must take place.

Whether it’s because of being overworked, a longing to do something new, or (like me) the holiday season with all its hustle and flurry comes along, carrying you away through December into January and leaves you in a heap of new materialistic treasures, last year’s confetti and six extra pounds around your middle, begging the question, “What in the world just happened?”

If the latter works in your favor, you find new places for the gifts you received, sweep up the confetti, throw out the Christmas tree, and dedicate two straight weeks of a diet regimen of eggs, salad, chicken, repeat. Everything else, pales in comparison to the next two to three weeks where you try to get your life back in order just so you can face the new year organized, somewhat refreshed.

That’s what has occurred this January. This month was a “let’s assess life as it currently is, then make some changes to make it more manageable.”

This year is all about peace.

I’ve cut my internet service with Comcast. I know, horror! Dating is being placed on the backburner until next year. This year is all about what I want: from my job, friendships, relationship with God, preparing for my future, learning what makes me truly happy.

Because I cut off the Internet, I’ve been more productive. My apartment has never been cleaner. My anxiety levels have plummeted, and I’ve rediscovered my fondness for books. I’m not saying everyone should do what I did, but it’s a great way to cut down on all the — chaos — that seems to flood social media newsfeeds. If you aren’t plugged in, you don’t know about that fabulous trip to Cabo your friends took, the new baby that’s taken over every picture you see, or political preaching. It’s quite nice to curl up in my apartment, open a book, and let the story transport me to a different time and place without my phone dinging over yet another notification.

I’ll probably do a few book reviews throughout the year, adding that to the list of things I want to share with you all. The topics list is growing for the year so stay tuned for more encouragement, positivity, and, most importantly, peace in 2015.

Let’s make it a great one, guys!

Leave a Reply

